Your Rosh Hashana Main Dish…

unnamed-4.jpg

This thing is gorgeous. It smells great, tastes better, and BH is SUPER easy to throw together! What’s better? All you need is a crock pot and 8 hours!

It was my mom’s birthday and I wanted to something special. I’ve been doing the whole 30 diet *my sister is a great influence on me!* So I was looking for something that would both meet my new diet and also be a great meal for my mom. After much google searching and debating I finally decided on this one: http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/crockpot-sweet-sour-pomegranate-short-ribs-creamy-polenta/  I only made the beef, and I used cholent meat instead of short ribs… man this thing was SOOOOO good!

Here’s what I did…

Ingredients:

  • A splash of Olive oil to coat the crockpot
  • 2 1/2 lbs of cholent meat (I used grass fed because it’s what I had in my freezer… and officially it’s better for you. It’s also part of the reason I chose this recipe, because grass fed beef needs to be cooked low & slow or it can become tough)
  • 5 cloves of garlic – chopped
  • 4 carrots – chopped
  • 1 large onion – chopped
  • 2 cups pomegranate juice
  • 2-3 TBSP Date Sugar (yay whole 30!)
  • 1/3 cup coconut aminos (yay whole 30!)
  • 7-10 sprigs worth fresh thyme (check here to learn how to de-stem thyme the easy way!)
  • 3-4 springs worth fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • Seeds of 1/2 a pomegranite (save the other half for the garnish)
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp salt

Directions:

Use olive oil to coat your crock pot (to make clean up way easier). Then add all the ingredients listed above. (The original recipe says to sear the meat, but I wanted easy… plus my meat was frozen and I was not about to wait till I could separate it into smaller pieces to sear. Since I used cholent meat, I figured it would be okay and BH it was!) Set your crock pot to low and come back 8-9 hours later. I made mine overnight and it re-heats great when you want to eat it!

When you are ready to eat, garnish with the remaining pomegranate seeds and any remaining parsley you have.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Your Rosh Hashana Main Dish…

Leave a Reply

