My new favorite Meatloaf

unnamed-21.jpg

Meatloaf is one of my favorite foods. This recipe is whole 30 approved (thank you baby sistah & brother in law!) and includes some tricks for when you have limited kosher tools ๐Ÿ™‚ *Spoiler alert: ziplock bags!*

Disclaimer: I used two different ground meats because I had them and because as much as I like lamb, sometimes its a bit strong so I like to mix it with something lighter. You could easily make this with just ground turkey or ground beef. If you do make this with just ground beef, I might add more sweet potato… maybe, but that’s just me.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb ground turkey
  • 3/4 lb ground meat (I used lamb, you could use ground beef)
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled & cut very small
  • 2 TBSP flax seed powder (or 1/2 cup oats)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce (I used Paesanna’s Sicillian gravy)
  • 2 Dates cut small
  • 1 Shallot finely sliced
  • Pinch of salt & pepper
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 5-6 dates cut small (or 1/4 cup brown sugar)
  • 2 TBSP dijon mustard

Tools:

  • One good knife
  • One paper plate
  • clear cup for checking egg
  • 2 Ziplock bags
  • Aluminum pan
  • Optional: parchment paper

Directions:

Using the knife and paper plate, start by finely chopping the sweet potato, shallots, and first two dates. In the first ziplock bag, combine the finely chopped sweet potato, shallots and dates with the two ground meats, flax seed powder, egg, 1/4 cup of tomato sauce and a dash of salt and pepper. Press out as much air as you can, then seal the bag up and squeeze, smush etc until you’ve got everything all nicely mixed up ๐Ÿ™‚

Then line your aluminum tin with parchment paper and form two loaves from your meat mixture. Bake uncovered at 350*F for 45 minutes. In the meantime, take the second ziplock bag and add the remaining ingredients: 1/2 cup tomato sauce, finely cut dates and mustard. Close and mix in the same way you did the other bag. Try to get the date pieces as small and fully mixed in as possible so the flavor spreads more evenly. After the meatloaf has baked for 45 minutes, take it out and cut the corner of the ziplock bag with the sauce in it. Pipe the sauce on to both loaves and spread it so each is evenlyย covered, then put them back in the oven for another 15 minutes.

I am going to try to figure out the timing for making this recipe double wrapped in the oven for those who don’t have a kosher oven at your disposal… stay tuned ๐Ÿ™‚

*UPDATE* When making this recipe, double wrapped in aluminum foil in an oven, add an additional 20-30 minutes. You will see that there is a lot more liquid in the pan, but it’s just as tasty!

Here is the picture step by step ๐Ÿ™‚

unnamed-16.jpg

Look how tiny I cut the sweet potato! The last time I made this recipe I was home and was able to use my food processor… I think all things considered, I did a good job getting this guy pretty tiny ๐Ÿ™‚

unnamed-17.jpg

Everything is in the bag now, all that’s left is to close and smush it all together!

unnamed-18.jpg

Pretty little loaves ready for the oven!

unnamed-19.jpg

After the first baking! Notice how the shallots are on top? Yea… I forgot to include them in the meat mixture… it’s never too late!

unnamed-20.jpg

Using my mixing bag as a piping bag… yay for no dishes! Hooray for ziplock!

unnamed-21.jpg

It’s all done! If you noticed that the cut loaf looks shorter than just the one piece that’s missing… you might be right… and I just might have eaten some… what can I say, I could’t resist! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

