Strawberry Shortcake in a Jar and a Visit to my Sister & Brother-in-Law!

For the next few days, I’ll be in CT visiting my sister and brother in law! Stay tuned for some tips, tricks, and recipes from my travels 🙂

Before coming to Connecticut I spoke with my sister to plan the food stuffs. She’s got a regular electric coil stove that is super easy to kasher (just clean well and burn out), and her oven can be kashered on the self-cleaning mode so I knew I’d have a lot of flexibility on cooking. I decided to bring one pan to do some dairy cooking, some frozen meat and chicken to make in her oven after I kasher it, and a parve knife that I can use whenever.

Next up was planning what to eat on my amtrak train ride. Something about traveling always makes me go WAAAYYY overboard on food. Somehow I always think I’ll end up starving so I bring TONS. This time I brought… 3 water bottles, some spelt crackers, a package of seaweed, a strawberry shortcake in a jar, some leftover sautee’d zucchini, and a basic greek mason jar salad. Honestly, I probably could have fed an army… but hey, I didn’t starve!

The best thing I brought, naturally was the Strawberry Shortcake in a Jar…This one happens to be gluten free, but you could substitute the biscuit recipe for a regular flour one 🙂

unnamed-10.jpg

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of Oat flour
  • 4 TBSP Butter/Margarine (I used Earth Balance) room temperature
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1 TBSP Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Cup Milk/Milk substitute
  • 1/4 Cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla (optional)
  • Whipped cream (the frozen whipped cream you made for your peaches and cream will work perfectly)
  • Strawberries (you could also try blueberries for an interesting twist)

Directions:

Mix the oat flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, chia seeds and sugar in a bowl. Then with a fork, mash the butter/margarine in to the flour mixture and fold in the milk/milk substitute and vanilla in until all the ingredients are just combined. Line a muffin tin and spoon the mixture until each cup is about 3/4 full. Bake the oat biscuits at 425*F for about 10-15 minutes until the biscuits are slightly golden on top.

When the biscuits have cooled take them out of the muffin wrapper and put in a cup or a cup sized mason jar. These biscuits tend to crumble because of the oat flour, but the flavor and texture with the other ingredients works well, but the cup is really helpful :). Cut some fresh strawberries and put them on top then scoop some whipped cream on top. If you are using frozen whipped cream, just give it a few minutes before you enjoy your treat. The nice thing about using a mason jar it makes these great travel food! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

